jump to navigation

shoes and hair February 20, 2007

Posted by jenniferlewk in bad girls go..., magazines/photography.
trackback

In the film, I think the shoe shoe fetish represents the path to greater female agency–that the path can be walked in heels. Although the audience sees the shoes almost every time she has some sort of sexual endeavor (whether by choice or by force), I still believe that the using the high heel shows that despite socially constructed norms, women (and our protagonist) can fight for female agency. While I was thinking about the multiple times the audience saw the shoes in the film, I remembered that Britney Spears had recently shaved her head–I wanted to see what the public was saying about it. I found one article in particular that fascinated me–it basically said that Britney’s head shaving directly correlated to her taking control of her life. The article said that shaving her head was an empowering act done in a moment of clarity regardless of her mental state.  I copied the link below.

(click here for the link)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

