jump to navigation

Lady Sovereign: Does Being Anti-Feminine Still = Girl Power May 15, 2007

Posted by Rob Anne in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I watched this video, I can’t help but wonder if Lady Sovereign’s statement that “just being herself” really is the meaning behind girl power. She rejects the feminine, the conformity of female-hood and adopts a more androgynous or mannish look. But her message is still girl power to me – the “I can be anything I want to be” girl power that the Spice Girls kick-started. What do you think?

Comments»

1. sindhub - May 16, 2007

Granted, this is the first I’ve heard of Lady Sovereign, but I think it’s important not to frame the discussions as her ‘rejecting’ femininity and being ‘anti-feminine.’ It seems to me like she’s just being who she wants to be, and labeling her otherwise makes her seem reactionary. And ideally, don’t we just want everyone to be who they want to be?

2. dilesbo - July 20, 2007

I love sinhub’s reply. I whole-heartedly agree. I briefly met her and from what I’ve gathered from that, her music and interviews she is not reacting to or rejecting any sort of classical notion of femininity; she is simply being herself.


Leave a Reply

